Self Improvement

26 Feb

“Whenever we manage to love without expectations,
calculations, negotiations, we are indeed in heaven.”
~ Rumi

“The purpose of our lives is to be happy.”
Dalai Lama

“With realization of one’s own potential and self-confidence in one’s ability, one can build a better world.”
Dalai Lama

“Things which are alike, in nature, grow to look alike.”- Nobody (Dead Man)

“Eat to live and not live to eat.” -Socrates

“Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.” – Benjamin Franklin

“I’d rather a full bottle infront of me than a full frontal labotomy.” – Tom Waits

“Once you give up trying to understand women you will then enjoy them.”

“Nothing ventured nothing gained.”

“We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.”
– Joseph Campbell
“Everywhere I go, I’m asked if I think the universities stifle writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them. There’s many a best seller that could have been prevented by a good teacher.” — Flannery O’Connor
“To expect too much is to have a sentimental view of life and this is a softness that ends in bitterness.” — Flannery O’Connor
“We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit.” — e.e. cummings
“They are angry with me, because I know what I am.” Said the little eagle. “How do you know that they are angry with you?” “Because, they despise me for wanting to soar, they only want me to peck at the dirt, looking for ants, with them. But I can’t do that. I don’t have chicken feet, I have eagle wings.” “And what is so wrong with having eagle wings and no chicken feet?” Asked the old owl. “I’m not sure, that’s what I’m trying to find out.” “They hate you because you know that you are an eagle and they want you to think you are a chicken so that you will peck at the ground looking for ants and worms, so that you will never know that you are an eagle and always think yourself a chicken. Let them hate you, they will always be chickens, and you will always be an eagle. You must fly. You must soar.” Said the old owl.”
― C. JoyBell C.
“Harry, I’m gonna let you in on a little secret. Every day, once a day, give yourself a present. Don’t plan it, don’t wait for it, just let it happen. Could be a new shirt at the mens store, a catnap in your office chair or two cups of good, hot, black coffee. Like this.” – Dale (Twin Peaks)
Leave a Reply

