Dark and Light

26 Feb

“I had a dream which both frightened and encouraged me. It was night in some unknown place, and i was making slow and painful headway against a mighty wind. Dense fog was flying along everywhere. I had my hands cupped around a tiny light which threatened to go out at any moment. Everything depended on my keeping this little light alive. Suddenly i had the feeling that something was coming up behind me. I looked back, and saw a gigantic black figure following me. But at the same moment i was conscious in spite of my terror, that i must keep my little light going through night and wind, regardless of all dangers. When i awoke i realised at once that the figure was my own shadow on the swirling mists, brought into being by the little light i was carrying. I knew too that this little light was my consciousness, the only light i have. Though infinitely small and fragile in comparison with the powers of darkness, it is still a light, my only light.”

– Memories, Dreams, and Reflections by C. G. Jung.

 
“Beware the leader who bangs the drums of war in order to whip the citizenry into a patriotic fervor, for patriotism is indeed a double-edged sword. It both emboldens the blood, just as it narrows the mind.
“And when the drums of war have reached a fever pitch and the blood boils with hate and the mind has closed, the leader will have no need in seizing the rights of the citizenry. Rather, the citizenry, infused with fear and blinded by patriotism, will offer up all of their rights unto the leader and gladly so.
“How do I know? For this is what I have done. And I am Caesar.”
— Julius Caesar

 

“Every night and every morn, some to misery are born. Every morn and every night, some are born to sweet delight. Some are born to sweet delight; some are born to endless night.” – Nobody (Dead Man)

 

“The vision of Christ that thou dost see, is my vision’s greatest enemy.”- Nobody (Dead Man)

 

 

Leave a Reply

